Side by side
From each maker's own documents, checked 6 October 2026. Not stated means the documents say nothing, not that the app cannot do it. All seven apps.
| Glide | LibreLinkUp |
|---|---|
| Price | |
| Free, including the call. Photo carbs and My Lab are Premium: $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year for the whole profile source | Free source |
| Phones and other screens | |
| iPhone and Apple Watch. No Android, web, widget or CarPlay source | iPhone, Android. A paired watch shows the phone's notifications source |
| Followers per person | |
| No limit (invite codes) source | Up to 20 source |
| Follow more than one person | |
| No: one profile per account source | Up to 20 source |
| Low and high alerts | |
| Low. No high alert source | Low, high, urgent low (US, depends on the sensor); the follower sets the levels source |
| Rise and fall alerts | |
| Falling fast, rising fast source | Not in its documented alarm list source |
| Alert when readings stop | |
| Banner after 15 to 120 minutes, your choice (30 by default) source | “No Recent Data” notification on US Libre 3; for other sensors it varies source |
| Sound on a silenced iPhone | |
| Banners: no, but they show during a Focus that allows Time Sensitive. Call: rings through Silent and Focus with Emergency Bypass source | Not stated; the manual says to turn off Do Not Disturb source |
| Phone call | |
| On a low and on lost signal, in the night hours you set, to US, Canada and Europe numbers (free) source | Not in its documented alarm list source |
| Log meals and insulin | |
| Meals, insulin, notes, fingersticks, from any family phone source | Not stated; a read-only logbook of the last 2 weeks source |
| Photo carb estimate | |
| Yes (Premium), with published error numbers source | No: Abbott offers photo meals only in the wearer's Libre app source |
| Setup | |
| The wearer's Dexcom login, a LibreLinkUp or EasyFollow follower account, or a read-only Nightscout token source source source | Invite from the Libre app; a LibreView account source |
Where LibreLinkUp is stronger
- Android, as well as iPhone.
- One follower can follow up to 20 people. Glide follows one person per account.
- A high alert and an urgent low alert. Glide has no high alert.
- It is Abbott's own app.
Try Glide beside LibreLinkUp
- In Glide, tap Connect a CGM, pick Libre and enter a LibreLinkUp follower login. Setup for each model.
- Invite the family: Settings → Followers → Invite a follower. Each person installs Glide, taps Watch someone else's glucose, enters the code and taps Join.
- On your phone, go to Settings → Notifications, turn on Signal lost and set No reading for (30 minutes by default, 15 to 120).
- For the night: Settings → Alerts → Add a phone number. Enter a mobile number (outside the US, with its country code) and the code Glide texts you.
- Under Wake-up call, set the hours (10 PM to 8 AM by default). Under When to call, keep Call on signal loss on.
- Tap Add caller to Contacts. In Contacts, open that contact, tap Edit → Ringtone and turn on Emergency Bypass, so the call rings through Silent and Focus.
- Tap Send a test call.
What you see

- At night, a real phone call from Glide Alarm. Glide's server places it, so the app does not have to be open.
- Another call every 15 minutes by default (the Snooze setting), until readings come back.
- The chart fills in when the sensor reconnects.
Questions
Can I keep LibreLinkUp?
Yes. Glide reads the same data, so LibreLinkUp and Glide work side by side.
Does Glide replace the CGM's alarms?
No. Glide is not a medical device. Keep the alarms on in the wearer's CGM app.
What does Glide cost?
Glide is free: readings, the chart, followers, alerts, the nighttime call, the report and the Apple Watch app. Glide Premium ($4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, two weeks free) adds photo carb counting and My Lab's food groups.
More with Glide
Other comparisons
Glide's maker wrote this page. Glide is not affiliated with or endorsed by the maker of LibreLinkUp. If a cell is wrong or out of date, write to [email protected] and we fix it.